Councilmember Huizar secured $250,000 to restore historic 1922 building and remove 6,000 square-feet of grass turf and replace with drought-tolerant landscape
LOS ANGELES (Nov. 22, 2014) – Councilmember José Huizar joined with the Eagle Rock community Saturday for the grand re-opening of the historic Eagle Rock City Hall on Saturday.
In the spring of 2014, Councilmember Huizar instructed the city to allocate $250,000 to repair the facility and restore it to its former glory. Working with community leaders and local preservationists, the renovated building is once more a shining star for Eagle Rock. Improvements include remodeled restrooms, brand new flooring, accent lighting and updated community rooms. Work also included removal of 6,000 square feet of turf, which was replaced with drought tolerant landscaping and a low-water usage drip irrigation system.
“For more than 90 years, the Eagle Rock City Hall has held a special place in the heart of the Eagle Rock community,” said Councilmember Huizar. “Restoring this beautiful and historic building is a tribute to its lasting legacy as an iconic Eagle Rock landmark and its ongoing importance as a community gathering space. Adding modern amenities like a drought-resistant landscape will help us ensure the Eagle Rock City Hall is poised for the future and continues to be a valued community gem for years to come.”
The Eagle Rock City Hall site is one of the first municipal buildings in the City of Los Angeles to receive a fully drought-tolerant landscape.
Eagle Rock City Hall was built in 1922, one year before Eagle Rock was consolidated with the City of Los Angeles after establishing itself as its own City in 1911. Originally housing the fire department, police department and chambers for the Eagle Rock City Council, the building has been an iconic Eagle Rock structure for more than 90 years. Throughout its history it has served as an art gallery, operation office for City departments, Council field office and more. The building underwent a renovation in the 1960s and a seismic retrofit in 1994.